Sign up for Email Alerts Make a Donation

Elections & Progressive Leadership

"There are three critical ingredients to democratic renewal and progressive change in America: good public policy, grassroots organizing and electoral politics.
-- The Late Senator Paul Wellstone

Citizen Action/Illinois & The Progressive Action Project

  • Advocating for progressive values and a progressive agenda in Springfield and Washington, DC
  • Organizing and building coalitions that are committed to social justice and economic fairness
  • Reaching out into communities and educating the public about issues and candidates
  • Registering people to vote and encouraging them to participate in the political process

Citizen Action/Illinois is not only the largest consumer watchdog group in Illinois, but also one of the most effective vehicles for progressive political involvement in our state.

Citizen Action/Illinois: leading the way in the fight for our civil rights, progressive values and our future.

Congratulations to the 2016 Endorsed Candidates for State and County offices.

Each election cycle, Citizen Action’s political action committee, the Progressive Action Project, convenes to make endorsements for public office.  Candidates who wish to be endorsed by the organization are required to complete a questionnaire which outlines the broad policy positions taken by Citizen Action/Illinois.  In the case of incumbents, Citizen Action will also consider their score on our Legislative Scorecard (click here for Citizen Action/Illinois 2015 Illinois Legislative Scorecard).  In order to receive an endorsement, a candidate must garner 60% of the votes cast by the body.

For State Senate: Omar Aquino -2, Senator Mike Hastings-19, Cristina Castro-22, Corinne Pierog-25, Laura Murphy-28, Julie Morrison-29, Christine Benson-38, Sheila Simon -58.

For State Representative: Theresa Mah -2, Juliana Stratton -5, Representative Chris Welch-7, Representative Sara Feigenholtz -12, Representative Greg Harris-13, Representative Lou Lang -16, Representative Robyn Gabel -18, Jhatayn "Jay" Travis -26, Representative Al Riley -38, Representative Jaime Andrade -40, Representative Mike Smiddy -71, Mike Halpin -72, John Curtis-93, Anthony DelGiorno -99, Representative Carol Ammons-103.

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner: Josina Morita, Mariyana Spyropolous, Barbara McGowan for 6-year terms; Marty Durkan and Tom Greenhaw for 2-year terms.