Sign up for Email Alerts Make a Donation

Join us for our Annual Dinner Sept. 19 honoring UAW leader Dennis Williams. Buy tickets now!


2014 Lerner Egan Award Recipient – Dennis Williams – President, United Auto Workers

Keynote Speaker – U.S. Senator Dick Durbin

Award Presented by Illinois Governor Pat Quinn 

Please join us for our Annual Dinner Friday, September 19, 2014 at the Chicago Hilton and Towers, honoring UAW President Dennis Williams.

  to purchase tickets.

About our Honoree:

Dennis Williams was elected Secretary-Treasurer of the UAW at the union's 35th Constitutional Convention on June 16, 2010 in Detroit. The UAW's influential Reuther Caucus has nominated Dennis Williams to be the union's next president, to be elected in the summer of 2014. 

In 2001, Dennis was elected UAW Region 4 Director at a special convention. He was re-elected in June 2002 and in June 2006 at the UAW Constitutional Convention in Las Vegas. DenRegion 4 includes Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Throughout his life Mr. Williams has been politically active. As Director he was a strong advocate for workers’ rights, through political action, organizing, and contract bargaining. He developed strategies that supported and elected political leaders that safeguard labor unions in the states of Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota. In Illinois he led coalitions that successfully pushed Unemployment-Tech bill legislation which became law in 2005. This groundbreaking law gave locked-out workers the right to unemployment benefits.  Dennis is a former Board member of Citizen Action/Illinois.

Governor Pat Quinn – our 2009 Lerner-Egan Award Winner – will present the award to Mr. Williams.

  to purchase tickets.