Sign up for Email Alerts Make a Donation

Leading Public Interest Group Announces 2018 Endorsements, Legislative Scorecard


On January 21st, the Citizen Action/Illinois Policy Council and State PAC convened in Chicago to make their respective endorsements in the March 20th, 2018, primary election. We are proud to announce these candidates to you and hope that you will take some time to read up on their positions before early voting begins on February 8th. If you do not see a candidate listed, it is possible that they didn't submit a questionnaire or that our council chose not to make an endorsement.

A general reminder that early voting will begin in select locations in February and will roll out to satellite locations on March 5th. For more information about early voting, vote by mail and information on your polling place; please go to the State Board of Elections web site at


The Progressive Action Project, the state PAC of Citizen Action/Illinois, also announced its endorsements for the 2018 Primary Election.

Governor: J.B. Pritzker

State Senate: Omar Aquino-2, Ram Villivalam-8, Laura Fine-9, Iris Martinez -20, Laura Ellman -21, Suzy Glowiak -24, Tom Georges -26, Ann Gillespie -27, Nancy Zettler -33, Gregg Johnson -36, Heidi Henry -38, Don Harmon -39, Rachelle Aud Crowe -56, Christopher Belt -57. 

State Representative: Aaron Ortiz -1, Delia Ramirez -4, Sonya Harper -6, Emanuel “Chris” Welch -7, Sara Feigenholtz-12, Greg Harris-13, Kelly Cassidy -14, Lou Lang-16, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz -17, Robert Martwick -19,  Elizabeth “Lisa” Hernandez -24, Justin Slaughter -27, Robert “Bob” Rita -28, Thaddeus Jones -29, Will Davis -30, Mary Flowers -31, David Bonner -38, Anna Moeller -43, Anne Sommerkamp -47, Terra Costa Howard-48, Mark Walker -53, Daniel Didech -59, Jake Castanza -68, Angelique Bodine -69, Paul Stoddard -70, Joan Padilla -71, Mike Halpin-72, Elyse Hoffenberg -82, Jill Blair -88, Amy Davis -90, Jehan Gordan-Booth -92, John Curtis-93, Jennifer McMillin -101, Carol Ammons -103, Benjamin Webb -105, Shirley Bell -110.

Cook County Offices

Cook County Board President: Toni Preckwinkle

Cook County Assessor: Frederik “Fritz” Kaegi

Cook County Treasurer: Maria Pappas

Cook County Clerk: Karen Yarbrough


Commissioner 1st District: Brandon Johnson, 2nd District: Dennis Deer, 3rd District: William “Bill” Lowry, 4th District: Stanley Moore, 5th District: Deborah Sims, 6th District: Donna Miller, 7th District: Alma Anaya, 12th District: Bridget Degnan, 13th District: Larry Suffredin, 15th District: Kevin Morrison, 17th District: Abdelnasser Rashid. 


Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner: Debra Shore, Kari Steele and Marty Durkan for 6-year terms; and Kimberly Dubuclet for 2-year term.


Also endorsed were Laurel Prussing for Champaign County Treasurer and Kristina Zahorik and Mark Guethle for State Central Committee 14th District. Municipal and party endorsements are made by request of the body.